10 Lessons I Learned in 2015

I didn’t set high expectations for this year but it turned out to be the greatest year of my life. This is the year when I graduated in high school, passed our research thesis, watched One Direction’s concert,  got into Ateneo, performed in a musical play, and met a lot of amazing people.

These are some of the lessons that I learned this year.

1. It is okay to let go of some friendships.

Some people are meant to stay in our lives. Some don’t. I learned that once the friendship starts falling apart and no matter how much effort you put into that friendship (the other doesn’t put as much effort as you do)…

Re-evaluate.

It is okay to let go as long as you know in yourself that you have reasons to. You’ll meet more people in life anyway.

2. There is always a rainbow after the rain.

Before I graduated, we had a major task in high school:  RESEARCH PAPER. I had sleepless nights and petty fights with my research mates but we worked our asses paid off!

IMG_9383

During the first semester of college, I auditioned for a musical theatre organization.  Fortunately, I got accepted!!! I felt like I was on top of the world when I got into the newbie production. For 2 months, I had 3-4 hours of rehearsals everyday. I had bruises and scars during the rehearsals. I became exhausted. But in the end, I earned my friends for life and our play was a success!!!

3. Time-management is everything!!!

Academics + Theatre + Social Life + Social media + Sleep + Eat + others???

Most of my friends and relatives told me that I was crazy and that I should quit theatre because of the time it consumed.

“How about your studies?”

With time-management, one can conquer everything. I had good grades this semester, even my cast mates too! Just because one gives a portion of his time to something, then he has to give up others, NO.

4. Became more open-minded with feminism and the LGBTQ+ community  YAAASSS

Dress code + Street-Harassment + Homophobia + Transphobia + Misogyny + Racism = ????

WHO WANTS THESE THINGS??? #LoveWins

5. Don’t judge a person by his actions. Everyone has a heart.

Everyone has a story. Everyone is undergoing through something. Everyone has problems. Everyone has reasons. We just have to #RESPECT and be a little bit more #UNDERSTANDING.

6. It is okay to make mistakes. 

Yes, it is definitely okay to make mistakes. Creating mistakes is a part of growing up. We shouldn’t always give ourselves the blame once we failed at something. Mistakes exist to help us improve. Get up and get rolling.

7. If you put your heart and soul to something. You are unstoppable.

I never really knew what passion was, until I got into theatre. Theatre has taught me that if you love what you do, you won’t ever get tired because you are committed to it. Instead, you’ll keep on breaking walls with your own fists. It may be frustrating at times but breaking one wall at a time gives you a sense of accomplishment and joy. You love the sweat. You love the tears. You love the bruises. You love the frustration. With passion, comes breaking walls. Keep on breaking walls with your fists. Keep on improving. If there is passion there is the will to improve.

8. Acknowledge your feelings.

There is nothing wrong with feeling frustrated, angry, or sad. We often deny these feelings because we tend to believe that they are bad. That these emotions are negative ones. As humans, it is natural for us to feel and we shouldn’t deny it.

9. Just because you’re bad at something. It doesn’t mean that you have to give up. 

Hi! I’m the typical person who rants about his/her math skills. LOL. All my life, I sucked at math. In high school, I usually had a grade of 2.0 or 2.25 or 2.5 ( just like the UP grading system). I’m not ashamed of it because I KNOW THAT I REALLY SUCK HUHUHU.

All of us suck at something right? But it doesn’t mean that we have to cry our eyes out and wish that we have to die because of it. Instead of being harsh to ourselves and settling for the less, always strive to improve. I realized that “Okay, I’m not good at it but it won’t stop me from trying harder.”

10. God gives us purpose and His plan is perfect.

Jeremiah 29:11 ” For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosperyou and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

I have to say that I did not pass UPCAT. At first, it was hard for me to accept it. I remember the night when the results were released and almost everyone of my batch mates were cheering in the dorm. I felt so bad. I blamed myself so hard and my insecurities became worse. But God made me study in Ateneo. I met my block mates, church mates, org mates, and other people who were always there for me. Ateneo felt like home and I am very grateful for it. During those days when I felt embarrassed about not passing in the University of the Philippines, I wish I could tell myself that everything is going to be okay.

Some of you might be dealing with something but I want you to know that God is in charge. So don’t ever worry.

I know that the future is kinda blurry but God had already made his plan for me and I believe that it is perfect.

 

Leave a Reply

